Q & A with Author Stormy Smith

So on April 25th I met Author Stormy Smith at her book signing in Burlington, Iowa where I got to not only meet an amazing author, but she also shared some funny stories about her writing and gave me a signed copy of Bound by Spells (Thank you such much as that was totally unexpected and completely blew my mind).

Stormy is giving me the opportunity to do a Q and A with her for my blog! If you don’t already know Stormy is the author of the Bound Series: Bound by Duty and Bound by Spells (A third book is currently in the works, ahhh!) . (To read by review of Bound by Duty go here!) I recently finished reading Bound by Spells and I loved it! Read by review here! So without anymore delay here is my Q and A!


Let’s start with an easy question! 

1. What are you currently reading?

Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout. It’s part of the Lux series and so far, I love it!! It’s a great storyline and the characters are fantastic.


Now for the writing itself! 

2. How do you deal with criticism from editors, reviewers, and yourself?

Oh, wow, we aren’t pulling any punches with this interview, are we? Haha! Those three actually take three totally different outlooks. Let me explain.
Editors – this I take in stride. My critique partner is a trusted friend and I’ve learned through two books that she makes me question in the right ways but never tries to force me into something. So, her advice is cherished. I depend on it to feel comfortable with my manuscript. My copy editor, well, I pay her. And we both know that I suck at grammar, so there are very few of her track changes that I don’t accept. I trust her implicitly.
Reviewers – this one is harder, but also depends on what they said. On GoodReads, people can be horrible. They rip authors to shreds and just tear apart stories, for what seems like the fun of it. BUT, I’ve also met some amazing reviewers on GoodReads who provide truly helpful feedback. Amazon seems to be a little more positive place. One of my most helpful reviews was a two-star where the person told me very plainly what she didn’t like and why, and I was able to decide how I felt about her points and then implemented some of her suggestions into the next book as I was writing. Reviewers have an opportunity to shape a book if they can criticize constructively.
Myself – this is the hardest, by far. I am my own worst critic, and if I let it, self-doubt would run rampant inside me. So, I work really hard to surround myself with great people who remind me of my wins on the day that feels like a loss. And I try to be compassionate with myself. I try to recognize that I can’t work seven days a week. That my full time job and graduate school will suck my time (and energy) away and it’s okay to take a night off and relax. My mind needs those breaks to come back strong.

3. What advice do you have for new authors?

First thing is first – write the book. Don’t worry about anything else until you finish the book. Then, and only then, worry about how you want to publish, marketing, etc. Know that this is hard road. You will work your tail off, and the easiest thing you do will be to write the book. Making sure the world knows you wrote a book is the hard part. But, once people start talking about it, everything you do is validated, and you’ll get hooked on the act of writing, the thrill of engaging with your audience and the madness that is being an author. 🙂

4. When you first began writing is there anything you would have done differently?

I don’t think so. There is no right way to be an author. No right process everyone should follow or way it should go, so I think I needed to do everything I did in order to learn and grow. My biggest learn point was, and still is, accepting that there is no formula for me to follow. I have to know myself and my needs, and honor those.

5. What inspires you when your writing? Are there any little routines go through to write?

Music is a huge source of inspiration for me. I can hear a song for the hundredth time and because I’m thinking about a certain scene, hear the lyrics mean something I never thought they would. And those lyrics can inspire me to make one choice or another.
As far as routines, I don’t think so. I enjoy writing first thing in the morning with a cup of tea, or late at night with a glass of wine. I write when I can, so that often means I make due with whatever the circumstances are.

Questions about Bound! 

6. Are there any characters that are based on people you know or have known in real life?

Oh, absolutely. When you first start out, you don’t trust yourself to entirely make people up, so you have to pull from real life. Bethany is a mix of my best friends from throughout my life, but her southern accent and phrases come from my adult best friend, Christina. And, Aidan is based very closely off of my husband. Some of his lines he used on me while we were dating found their way into Bound by Duty.

7. What was your favorite scene/part to write?

I don’t know that I can pick a favorite, but I can tell you that writing the memory scene with Elias and Nell was one of the most moving scenes I wrote in Bound by Duty and it showed me that I could write to that depth.

8. If you lived in the Bound world would you rather be a Mage or an antimage?

Mage. I don’t like the idea of being dirty and an animal. I like staying me, but a pretty freaking awesome version of me.

9. Do you have any other project in the works?

I am writing Bound by Prophecy right now and once I finish it, I will know for sure how many books will be in the series (I hope) but I may take a short break from the Bound world to write something a little different. We shall see!

And finally…

10. If you could meet your favorite author who would it be?

Oh, geez. We’re ending just as hard as we started! I think if it could be anyone, it would be Jane Austen. I adore Pride and Prejudice and Jane Austen faced so many challenges to live her dreams. I want to know how she did it, how she stayed motivated, and what her writing process was like.


A big thank you to Stormy for answering these questions!


Information for: Stormy Smith

 

Website: http://www.stormysmith.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorStormySmith

Twitter: https://twitter.com/stormysmith

Instagram: https://instagram.com/stormysmith

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8159417.Stormy_Smith

Book(s):

Genres: New Adult, Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, and Paranormal

Bound by Duty Synopsis: Amelia grew up in a world of half-truths. She knows she’s an Elder, but has no idea what that means. Her father reminds her daily that she must maintain control, but he refuses to explain why. Even worse, she’s betrothed to the prince of the Immortals and doesn’t even know his name.

Finally breaking free to live a few normal years at a community college, the last thing Amelia expects is to find her best friend in a cheeky southern girl, or fall for a self-assured human who sees her for who she is, not what she will become.

As she learns more about herself, Amelia realizes the line between love and duty is a thin one. As her power continues to increase exponentially and her questions are slowly answered, Amelia must make the ultimate choice. The question is, will her head win the battle, or her heart?

Bound by Spells Synopsis: Aidan Montgomery hadn’t been prepared for Amelia Bradbury to walk in and then out of his life. He also hadn’t expected to find the powerful magic hidden deep within him for the last nineteen years, but he’s embracing it — finding more control and more answers every day. Now, with the help of Amelia’s best friend, Bethany, Aidan is on a quest to understand his destiny and find Amelia.

Amelia decided to stand by her duty, which meant walking away from her first chance at love. Trapped in Cresthaven at the Queen’s mercy, she spends her days with Micah — an ally she still holds at arm’s length — struggling to manage her heartbreak while keeping her mind focused on the task at hand. As she continues to unlock the secrets of the Keeper power, Queen Julia’s true motives reveal themselves, forcing Amelia to decide, yet again, how much she’s willing to sacrifice.

Will Aidan get to Amelia before it’s too late, or will the very power that sustains them keep them apart?

Endorsement for Bound by Spells: “Featuring a cast of mages and shapeshifters with unique magical abilities, one destiny-shaping prophecy, a genocidal megalomaniac, and a budding, heated romance (or two!), this book is paranormal gold! Read the first book in the series first, of course, but once you finish this one you’re sure to be salivating for the next release in this not-to-be-missed romantic paranormal series.”

— Serena Chase, USA Today‘s Happy Ever After blog

Bio: Stormy Smith is the author of the Amazon best seller, Bound by Duty, and Bound by Spells. She calls Iowa’s capital home now, but was raised in a tiny town in the Southeast corner of the state. She grew to love books honestly, having a mom that read voraciously and instilled that same love in her. She knew quickly stories of fantasy were her favorite, and even as an adult gravitates toward paranormal stories in any form.

Writing a book had never been an aspiration, but suddenly the story was there and couldn’t be stopped. When she isn’t working on, or thinking about, her books, Stormy’s favorite places include bar patios, live music shows, her yoga mat or anywhere she can relax with her husband or girlfriends.

One thought on “Q & A with Author Stormy Smith

  1. You’re so lucky! I wish I could meet some of my favourite authors ahhh 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

