Review: Wait for You by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Hello, it’s me (and yes that was totally an Adele reference). Here’s a review that I was planning on posting long ago and I’m just now posting. Many, many, many months later.

So with any further delay today I’m going to review Wait for You by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Wait for you

Rating: 5/5

 

Goodreads Summary:

Some things are worth waiting for.

Traveling thousands of miles from home to enter college is the only way nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten can escape what happened at the Halloween party five years ago–an event that forever changed her life. All she needs to do is make it to her classes on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe–please God–make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself.

Some things are worth experiencing.

Cameron Hamilton is six feet and three inches of swoon-worthy hotness, complete with a pair of striking blue eyes and a remarkable ability to make her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere, with his charm, his witty banter, and that damn dimple that’s just so… so lickable. Getting involved with him is dangerous, but when ignoring the simmering tension that sparks whenever they are around each other becomes impossible, he brings out a side of her she never knew existed.

Some things should never be kept quiet.

But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she’s has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her or will he be dragged down with her?

And some things are worth fighting for.

My Thoughts:

Wow. This book was so beautifully written. It covered some pretty heavy topics, but it was handled so well. I would say that there are some trigger warnings that I would like to advise if you are sensitive to certain subjects, but it was handled so well. From start to finish Avery developed so much. She progressed so much from start to finish, and even when the book was finished I knew she would still progress and develop. I found myself relating to Avery. Whether it be about being late to class which is mentioned on the first page or one of my favorite lines from Cam’s mom [spoken to Avery] “I think the key to the start of any good relationship is to remember how the other person likes their coffee.”

I hope that wasn’t too much of a spoiler, but I loved that quote so much I just needed to say it because as a coffee lover I found myself smiling and laughing out loud at that because it is so incredibly true.

Of course since this is a new adult book there is romance of course. It didn’t really start off with a lot of romance, but about halfway that’s when things got…interesting.  I was a bit thrown off when things got very sexual, but after I got past the initial shock, I found myself really enjoying this book. The romance was very well developed. It wasn’t rushed and I really liked that. There was no “insta love” in this book at all. Things took their time and I really appreciated that.

Also. Cam is, just…ahhh. Like Can I have a Cam for myself? Who wouldn’t want a totally hot guy baking you food and coming over every Sunday and making you eggs (another teeny spoiler, but I just had to mention that.) There was one thing I really liked about Cam. He comes off as completely perfect, but there will be a point in the book when he completely knocks you off your feet // I promise you that it was so refreshing.

One last thing I do want to say is that a lot of people were telling me that JLA’s books were all the same, but this was the second book of hers that I have read and it was totally different from the first book that I read by her // So I don’t really buy into that. But I am so happy I finally read this and I cannot wait to pick up the next book! Be with Me!

[I NEED MORE]

[[[[ Here’s the next book ]]]]

81k3jWNSCVL

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

