Genre Exploration: Reading Middle Grade as an “adult”

Hey hi hello! Long time, no see once again!

I feel like I am really terrible at keeping updated on this blog oops.

 

But anyways today I’d like to have a little chat about reading middle grade books as an “adult”. If you follow me on social media (which you totally should if you aren’t *insert wink emoji here* you will know that I’ve been reading The Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. As of this very moment I have read the first four books in the series

And just yesterday I started book five in the series.

book 5

I unlike many others, had never read this series before. I remember hearing about the series when I was younger. However, when I was younger I had no interest in reading. I know it’s shocking and I’m just as appalled as you are. So now at nineteen I am reading this series for the first time and I’m really enjoying it. But as an “adult” I feel very judged and embarrassed to be reading a book series meant for “kids”, but now after reading the first four books in the series I am growing comfortable reading them in public. At first I was hesitant to bring them with me to class, but then I thought to myself “why?”.

I shouldn’t feel embarrassed to read anything. Reading should be fun. Just because I am legally considered an “adult” why can’t I read and enjoy books meant for “kids”? We all should be entitled to read what we feel like reading, regardless of what the book might be labelled. This is such a fun (yet slightly depressing) series to read and I am really glad that I have been able to read such a popular series for the first time.

For many of you I am sure, this is probably your favorite series. Not very many people get to enjoy a childhood favorite for the first time and I feel very fortunate to get to experience this series, even if it is later in life than most. Even if it’s meant for “kids” I feel like there are still a lot of lessens to be learned from this series. Here are some lessons I’ve learned from reading these books so far:

  1. Family is important.
  2. Hope can always be found in the pages of a book.
  3. Always try and look on the bright side. No matter how dark and dismal the situation might be.

 

I thought this was really interesting and I was wondering what your thoughts are on this. Do you ever feel judged reading a book in public based on its genre?

Let me know if you want to see another “Genre Exploration”

-See ya soon!

 

One thought on “Genre Exploration: Reading Middle Grade as an “adult”

  1. sierrafaith327

    I don’t normally feel judged based on genres. But just reading out in public! I feel like everyone judging that I pulled out a book to read. I don’t see the difference between being on a phone and reading! As long as I’m not rude about, I’m good.

    I definitely want to see more Genre Exploration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

